Saritha Dillibabu
Posted on
Read in Hindi

Who has been re-elected speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha?


Prahlad Gunjal


Om Birla


Sumitra Mahajan


Amit Shah


Jagdeep Dhankhar

Answer : Option B

Explanation :

Om Birla, a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate, was re-elected speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha on 26 June 2024.

He was elected by voice vote after the opposition party did not press for the counting of votes.

Om Birla was also the speaker of the 17th Lok Sabha.

Om Birla is the 17th person to be elected as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

The Opposition candidate was K.Suresh of the Congress Party. He is an eight-time Lok Sabha member from Kerala who currently represents the Mavelikara constituency.

The first time election for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker was held in 1952 to elect the first Lok Sabha Speaker.


Daily current affairs mcq

find latest daily basis current affairs Questions and answers

Last six months current Affairs

Last six months current Affairs